For Immediate Release
Contact: Pete Osborne, ORSSAB Support Office, (865) 576-1590

Three Charter Members Honored
for Service to Site Specific Advisory Board

retiring members.jpg (21245 bytes)
Leah Dever, DOE-ORO Manager (far left), presented awards of service to outgoing members (left to right) Bill Pardue, Lorene Sigal, and Pat Rush at the June 13 ORSSAB meeting.

After 6 years, 70 board meetings, and an untold number of committee sessions, 3 charter members of the Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB) have called it quits.

Bill Pardue, Pat Rush, and Lorene Sigal have served on ORSSAB since its inception in August 1995. They are the only charter members to have remained on the board for the entire six years of service allowed by ORSSAB bylaws.

ORSSAB is a federally chartered citizens' panel that provides advice and recommendations to the DOE-Oak Ridge Offices (ORO) Environmental Management (EM) Program.

Awards of service were presented to the retiring members by DOE-ORO Manager Leah Dever at the June 13 ORSSAB meeting. The board presented the outgoing members with a cake during the meeting break.

"It's from the bottom of my heart that I want to thank Lorene Sigal, Bill Pardue, and Pat Rush for their service to the SSAB," Dever said during the ceremony. "We really appreciate the time, effort, and hard work they've put into this program."

"We've been able to make some tremendous improvements in the EM Program over the past six years," she added, "and it's largely through the help of this citizens' group."

Bill Pardue served as ORSSAB Vice Chair in 1997 and as Chair in 1998 and 1999. He is retired from the nuclear research and development field but is currently consulting for the environmental industry. He is a member of the Oak Ridge Reservation Health Effects Subcommittee, and he has served on several environmental and economic development boards at the local and national level.

"I believe the SSAB has made significant contributions to the EM Program," Pardue remarked on his experience on the board. "It was a unique opportunity to interact with many fine people, both members of the public and government employees."

Pat Rush was the leader of the ORSSAB ETTP Remediation and Reindustrialization Team in 1998 and co-chair of the Environmental Restoration Committee in 2001. Pat served on the City Charter Commission in 1985-86 and was a member of Oak Ridge City Council from 1987 through 2001.

Lorene Sigal served as leader of the ORSSAB Budget & Prioritization Committee in 1998 and 1999, as leader of the Stewardship Working Group in 1999, and as leader of the ORSSAB Stewardship Committee in 1999, 2000, and 2001. Lorene retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, where she worked as an ecologist. Her background includes work with the DOE Office of NEPA Oversight.

"It has been a challenge and an education for me," Sigal said, "but most of all, it has been a pleasure to work with so many dedicated volunteers and DOE and DOE contractor staff."

All three have served on numerous ORSSAB committees, which are the crucibles where most ORSSAB recommendations are hammered out. In the past six years, the advisory board has made over 80 recommendations concerning the DOE EM Program.

The retiring members will be replaced and open vacancies will be filled in July when DOE anticipates seating seven new members on the board.

ORSSAB meetings are generally held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Garden Plaza Hotel in Oak Ridge. Meetings are open to the public, and notices are posted on the Board's Web site (www.oakridge.doe.gov/em/ssab) and through the Board's 24-hour information line (865-576-4750).