For Immediate Release
Contact: Rikki Traylor, ORSSAB Secretary, (865) 690-8432

DOE Appoints New Members To Oak Ridge SSAB

Oak Ridge, Tenn. - August 25, 1999 - The U.S. Department of Energy has announced the appointment of six area residents to the Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB).

James Alexander and Jeff Cange of Oak Ridge; Robert Blaum and Robert Brown of Rockwood; Luther Gibson, Jr., of Harriman; and Darrell Srdoc of Loudon were appointed to replace members whose terms expired in July.

'We're extremely pleased to welcome these new members," said Rod Nelson, DOE-Oak Ridge Offices (DOE-ORO) Assistant Manager for Environmental Management. "The SSAB has played a crucial role in providing public input on environmental cleanup of the Oak Ridge Reservation, and we appreciate the generous commitment of time and effort these folks are making in participating on the Board."

Chartered in 1995 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, ORSSAB is a volunteer citizens' panel providing advice and recommendations to the DOE-ORO Environmental Management Program. The Board is composed of up to 20 members, chosen to reflect the diversity of gender, race, occupation, and interests of persons living near the Oak Ridge Reservation.

ORSSAB members are appointed by DOE-Headquarters, upon recommendation from DOE-ORO. Appointments are for a two-year term, with the possibility for reappointment twice. Current Board membership now stands at 15.

The appointments follow closely on the heels of two recent additions to the Board. In March, DOE named Oak Ridge resident Dave Mosby to the Board, and in May ORSSAB added its first student representative, Oak Ridge High School student Anne-Marie Wiest.

The six Board members who chose not to ask for reappointment - Joe Alexander of Knoxville, Jack Bowden of Lenoir City, Donna Campbell of Harriman, Fred Creswick of Ten Mile, Ken Parks of Kingston, and Bob Peelle of Oak Ridge - were honored in a special ceremony at the August 4 Board meeting. All had all served their entire terms of service. Three of the six - Joe Alexander, Donna Campbell, and Bob
Peelle - were charter members of the Board.